life

The Kiv Garden 2017

Last years garden was small and lack-luster.  All I got were tomatoes from a plant that was purchased with flowers on it already (thanks Costco!).  The cucumber and pepper plants, and strawberries I bought were always close to producing fruit but whenever I left for camp for the weekend, they would dry up and die, and the cycle would repeat.

♥     ♥     ♥

     This season, I decided to try growing plants from seed.  March 22 I planted my tomato (sub arctic plenty) seeds in an egg carton, and now I have 1-inch seedlings.  IMG_20170225_151244Still waiting for those guys to perk up more to go outside.  And just today I planted the rest of my seeds: peas (sugar snap), cucumbers (earliest mincu), beets (red queen), carrots (red-cored Denvers), and beans prevail bush).

I’m hoping that these kinds grow easily and well together, but if they don’t, I’ll have to start a list of plant seeds to never buy again – ha ha!

I’ve been really excited for this garden to work this year.  The system my mom bought me for my birthday has a water/irrigation mechanism built-in, so that should be exciting and I really hope it works!  Otherwise, I’ll have to buy a kiddie pool to put my plant pots in so that they stay hydrated.  Can you imagine??  That might just be a great idea, though!  In any case, this is my current set-up:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It’ll still be a few more weeks or so before any of the seedlings start appearing, and before I can transfer my tomatoes into bigger pots.  I might put them into slightly bigger pots before their final pots, just to give them new soil and nutrients.  We’ll see how they grow in the next week.  Other than that, I’m going to mulch my seeds with grass for tonight so that the rain doesn’t wash away my hard work.  Then I’ll replace the grass with proper mulch if it doesn’t look like it’s working!

♥     ♥     ♥

Sprout times:

  • Peas: 5-10 days.
  • Cucumbers: 8-10 days.
  • Beans: 6-14 days.
  • Carrots: 10-14 days.
  • Beets: 10-12 days.
  • Tomatoes: 7-14 days (took about two to three weeks for mine).

DSCN4816

♥     ♥     ♥

     To those of you who are also gardening, good luck with your seedlings!  If you’ve also started from seeds, really good luck, and have patience.  Let me know what kind of plants are in your garden for this season – I’ve chosen mine because they are my favourite veggies.

Leave a Reply

