life, shiny new things

Last Week in Shiny, New Achievements; 5

I’m having a surreal day trying to grasp the fact that I just had my last lecture of my third year university… !!!!!!!!  I feel like laughing maniacally but that would freak my dog out.  Or probably just annoy her – hehe.

So yes, I have 5 final exams to go, my last one on April 18th, then I will have completed my entire third year!  I’m pretty hopeful that if all goes well I will achieve the average that I was striving for (see future achievements for 2016!).  I’ll still have to study hard to keep it up there but it’s definitely do-able.  I feel really accomplished and proud of myself, but I still feel like I have to say I’m not trying to brag (also why I don’t say my grades or average online or in person!).  I’m just pushing myself to do the best I can. ☺

That’s one future task completed.  Woohoo!

I also feel like I’ve stepped out of my comfort-shell a little bit.  I don’t know how you feel going up to profs to ask questions or to go over your assignments/tests, but I’ve always felt too nervous to do it.  Until this last month.  I can still only count on one hand the times I’ve asked my professors questions after class (4 times recently, once more before that!), but they have all been super important discussions.  Today I asked my histology prof about other courses I could take next year and got suggestions.  This week and last I asked my advanced stats prof why I had marks taken off two assignments (and actually got reimbursed both times for things I did right!).  And a few weeks ago, I walked up bravely to my infectious diseases prof and asked him about potentially supervising a thesis.  To summarize the key points:

I’M DOING A FOURTH-YEAR THESIS!  Squeee: a second future task completed! ☺

I’m really excited!  I’ll be starting it this summer, working with bacteria and cloning things; that said, I know how much work this is going to be and I’m trying to prepare myself for this.  Luckily, I’ve taken the majority of my “difficult,” core courses already, so I have some room to choose easier, interesting courses that will give me the time I need to work on my thesis.

As for art, I feel pretty good about the work I’ve been doing to get better.  I still know deep down that doing 1000 anatomy sketches will be useful and that I should really get on that.  I feel I’ve gotten better with the markers I was given last Christmas, and with my thesis work coming up this summer and the possibility of not having a job (such bad economy, I might not get “a real job” again), I think it might be an interesting endeavour to try selling prints of watercolour paintings or marker drawings.  I have no clue about pricing for shipping though, and I’d be doing that from home myself, but we shall see.

Anyway, I’m proud of myself so far!  This year has started off really well and I’m excited to see what else there is to come my way.  Now I’ll shush about myself: How are your resolutions or goals coming along this year?  Anything super exciting happen for you, any great opportunities popped up?  I hope your 2016 has been something to remember, so far, and I’d love to hear how everything is going! ☺

♥   ♥   ♥

Cheers!

EllieFaceRound

Leave a Reply

